Thursday, July 28, 2005

My Fulbright Acceptance Letter (Which Turned Out to Be a Mistake)

Here's the letter I received several months after turning in my Fulbright application. One week after receiving this letter, I received another one, which informed me to disregard the previous letter of acceptance. Apparently, the committee miscalculated the number of slots available this year. Needless to say, I was rather devastated. I should press charges for emotional stress.

Date: 7/29/2005
Ryan Morrison Receives U.S. Student Fulbright Award Ryan Morrison of Arizona State Univ. has been awarded a Fulbright grant to Japan in East Asian Languages and Literature, the United States Department of State and the J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board announced recently. Morrison is one of over 1,000 U.S. students that will travel abroad for the 2005-2006 academic year through the Fulbright Program. Established in 1946 under legislation introduced by the late Senator J. William Fulbright of Arkansas, the Program's purpose is to build mutual understanding between the people of the United States and the rest of the world.

The Fulbright Program, America's flagship international educational exchange program, is sponsored by the United States Department of State, Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs. Since its inception, the Fulbright Program has exchanged over a quarter of a million people - 100,900 Americans who have studied, taught or researched abroad and 166,600 students, scholars and teachers from other countries who have engaged in similar activities in the United States. The program operates in over 150 countries worldwide.
Recipients of Fulbright awards are selected on the basis of academic or professional achievement, as well as demonstrated leadership potential in their fields. Among the thousands of prominent Fulbright alumni are: Craig Barrett, Chief Executive Officer of Intel Corporation; Boutros Boutros-Ghali, former Secretary-General of the United Nations; Dame Ivy Dumont, Governor-General of the Bahamas; Renee Fleming, opera singer; Dolores Kendrick, Poet Laureate of the District of Columbia; Daniel Libeskind, Architect; Robert Shaye, Founder and
Co-Chairman, New Line Cinema; Javier Solana, Foreign Policy Chief, European Union; Joseph Stiglitz, Nobel Laureate in Economics; and Muhammed Yunus, Managing Director and Founder of the Grameen Bank.

No comments: